Can’t stop, can’t sleep

Amazing gig by Art Brut at the Village Underground. The crowd went crazy making the security guys almost worry. Lots of reasons for getting our voices shagged, particularly when the songs came from their debut album, “Bang Bang Rock & Roll”. Only one encore – the downside of not being in Portugal (we tend to force bands to come back on stage several times and less than two encores is just unacceptable).

These last few days I’ve been listening on repeat to a song I wished they would have played today, but they didn’t, so I’ll just play it myself (not literally, you can thank me later).

People in Love

People in love, lie around and get fat
I didn’t want us to end up like that
This isn’t the first time
You’ve fallen apart
Now you’re indulging in just playing a part

The more it happens, the easier it gets
You can learn to enjoy this type of upset
So pass me the wine
A cigarette too
We’ve about a week and a half to get through

To every girl, that’s ever been with me
I’ve got over you all, eventually
What becomes of the broken-hearted?
They’re drunk for a few weeks,
Then back where they started
So pass me the wine
A cigarette too
We’ve about a week and a half to get through

You can tell how bad you feel
By how long you’re in the shower
You’re in and out in minutes
Whereas it used to take hours

It’s not the breaking up,
It’s the starting again
Meeting new people, taking them out as a friend
The more it happens, the easier it gets
You can learn to enjoy this type of upset
People in love, lie around and get fat
I didn’t want us to end up like that

To every girl, that’s ever been with me
I’ve got over you, eventually
What becomes of the broken-hearted?
They’re drunk for a few weeks,
Then back where they started
So pass me the wine
A cigarette too
We’ve about a week and a half to get through

You’re indulging in just playing a part
So pass me the wine
A cigarette too
We’ve about a week and a half to get through
People in love, lie around and get fat
I didn’t want us to end up like that
The more it happens, the easier it gets
You can learn to enjoy this type of upset”

Most break up songs are sad, terribly sad and help you stay down and feel bad for yourself. It’s nice to hear one that tries to put you back on your feet by reminding you that the end of the world is nowhere as near as you thought it would be when s/he walked out the door.

Also, The Indelicates were one of the supporting bands. Original, funny, engaging – definitely want more of them. Blast Unit Moscow were the other supporting band. Predictable and boring. One song reminded me of “Walk Idiot Walk” (The Hives) and another of “20th Century Boy” (T. Rex), in a bad, bad way.

Finally, when it was all over, and even though I wanted more, I couldn’t help but smile and move along as Leonard Cohen’s “Closing Time” played on the background and the crowd flowed back into the streets of Shoreditch.

Still not very sleepy… So I guess the only reasonable thing to do is to convert my bed into a very private venue for an after party!

Are you anti-monologue?

